Houston. We have a Problem.

It’s her new way of saying. “Hello do you see your blood sugar?” It’s her new way of calling attention to the diabetes, without being obvious about it. It’s her way to say, “Abby, what the heck are you doing. You should respond to the number.” It’s her way of making it very clear that this 200 line I’ve been riding on the dexcom screen for the past three hours, is not really acceptable. It’s her way to ask if I’m okay. And guess what, if I don’t respond to “Houston” she follows up with “Hello? Mission control?”

But you know what? Had she just point blank asked or said what she wanted I would feel micromanaged. I would feel that she doesn’t trust me. Sometimes she is genuinely curious about the blood sugar pattern and sometimes I think it is a little passive aggressive, but also necessary to say the least.

I think that this space analogy especially applies to when I eat. If I “guesstimate” the count on a high carb food I consume, or bolus after the meal. After the first bite, sometimes I feel “5, 4, 3, 2, 1, blastoff!” Is the best way to describe my blood sugar trajectory for the next hour or so.

Her Apollo 13 movie references are just straight hilarious and anyone who is going to take the time to think of that deserves a nice answer and some appreciation.  And some days, I feel like a mission to space would be easier than trying to get my blood sugars to stay in range.

On another note there is a quote out there that reads, “Shoot for the moon, for if you fail you land upon the stars.” Call me crazy but I think that is a good way to think about the current progress toward a cure. As we work toward a cure, we have all this amazing technology such as the continuous blood glucose monitors, blue tooth sharing technology, and even a pump with low blood glucose suspend. And even if it isn’t a cure, this technology is still helping to save lives and make life with diabetes easier.

So roger that momma. Roger that.

AB

Leave a Reply

