Today is My Diaversary.

Today is my diaversary. It is just like any other day.

Today is my diaversary. It was this day fifteen years ago that part of my life could be described with the word “diabetic”.

Today is my diaversary. I did some chores around my uncle’s house, went to work at Market Basket, ate sushi for dinner with my mom and treated ourselves to ice cream Sundays.

Today is my diaversary and I tested my blood sugar and gave insulin like I do every other day, but this day I feel somber but proud about doing it.

Today is my diaversary and I absolutely hate diabetes. Hate it.

Today is my diaversary and I realize I shouldn’t really feel any different at all because nothing about diabetes is really new. It is just my life and that’s that.

Today is my diaversary and I am more thankful than ever for my Mom Jeanine, my Dad Chris and my Brother Christopher, for always being there, my friends who have helped with my morale all of these years and all of the amazing t1ds I have met because of this disease.

Today is my diaversary and I think some of my dreams have come true. Diabetes helped uncover the determination, strength, hope and resiliency I had all along.

Today is my diaversary and this past year was very difficult with sicknesses and I saw how scary this disease can be with my first trip to the ER since being diagnosed.

Today is my diaversary and I know for the past fifteen years, because of my unsteady or out of range blood sugars, my best feeling is what people feel when they are sick, and feeling bad has become normal.

Today is my diaversary and I want the bionic pancreas.

Today is my diaversary and… there goes my Dexcom alarming that I am high because I didn’t bolus correctly for my celebratory ice cream.

Today is my diaversary and I am more hopeful than ever for tomorrow, and the next day, the next month and the next year because I know it will be okay.

AB

One comment

  1. Jessica Romansky · August 29, 2015

    This is so great. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

